News & Events Page

News Details

Date: 2016-05-18
Title: Dr. Janina Galler Receives Leon Eisenberg Award in Child Psychiatry

Janina R. Galler, MD, was chosen as the recipient of the 7th Leon Eisenberg Award in 2016, given annually by the Global Mental Health, Neurodevelopmental Disabilities and Research Ethics programs in the Division of Developmental Medicine at Boston Children's Hospital. The event was held at the Harvard Faculty Club in Cambridge on May 11, 2016.

Dr. Galler, Director of the Barbados Nutrition Study and Psychiatrist in the MGH Division of Global Psychiatry, presented the 6th Annual Commemorative Ludwik S. Szymanski, MD Lecture in Mental Health, Developmental Disabilities and Ethics, entitled “The Legacy of Childhood Malnutrition: Effects on Brain and Behavior Across Generations” as part of the Boston Children's Hospital Department of Psychiatry Grand Rounds earlier in the day as part of the event.

The first Leon Eisenberg Award was presented on April 28, 2010, on the 10th anniversary of the founding of the Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities (MHDD) Program in the Division of Developmental Medicine at Boston Children's Hospital. The award was established by an anonymous philanthropic contribution to the MHDD program. The award celebrates the life and work of the late Dr. Leon Eisenberg, the Maude and Lillian Presley Professor of Psychiatry at the Harvard Medical School, and his mentor at Johns Hopkins, Dr. Leo Kanner. Dr. Eisenberg was the Chairman of the MGH Department of Psychiatry from 1967 to 1974. The award honors contributions to the field of child mental health and development and ethics. It is presented by Dr. Carola Eisenberg, widow of Dr. Leon Eisenberg, and a distinguished psychiatrist and advocate for health and human rights.

Dr. Galler is the first woman to receive this award. Past awardees are: Ludwik S. Szymanski, MD; James Harris, MD; Luis Salvador-Carulla, MD, PhD; Charles A. Nelson III, PhD; Sir Michael Rutter, CBE, FRS, FRCP, FRCPsych, FMedSC; and Joseph T. Coyle, MD.